Quick and Easy Vegetarian Egg Hash

IMG_3619
When I first came up with the idea to start this blog, I thought, how fun would it be to post both food I find while eating out as well as what I can create at home in my kitchen.  Two months later, I’ve realized that every post so far is while eating out.  And while I do like to eat out, especially when traveling, I promise that I do cook at home as well.  Which led me to today.  I decided, today’s the day I post a recipe of my own, so here it goes!

IMG_3610

My usual weekday lunches are as quick and easy as possible.  They mostly consist of a simple salad or a veggie and egg scramble or omelette.  As today is Thursday, we’re running a little low on our fruit and veg in the fridge.  We usually go to the market on Monday or Tuesday, and only buy enough to last for a few days, because with the 90 degree heat, and 100% humidity, nothing, and I mean nothing, can be left out on the counter.  Aka, I bought under ripe bananas on Tuesday, hoping that they would ripen up, but no, now I have two green-brown bananas.  Where’s the yellow?  Whoops.  I’ve learned my lesson: only buy bananas that are perfectly ripe, and eat them pretty much immediately.  Or miss out on the deliciousness of a fresh banana.

IMG_3611

But onto lunch.  I came home, checked the fridge, and found potatoes, one egg, and little bits of a few veggies.  But today was the day to post, so I had to make it work, and work it did!  What resulted was a tasty little plate of potato eggy veggie joy. Yay!  This little lunch only takes about 10-15 minutes start to finish, and I’m a slow mover, so you could probably do it even faster.  I chose to make this for lunch, but it would be equally delicious for breakfast, or dinner, or whenever you’re craving a quick and easy savory treat!

IMG_3612

I just made a portion for myself, but I’ve doubled the recipe so you can share with someone else, save half for later, or if you’re really really hungry, indulge on a big plate of yummies!

IMG_3618

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 10 minutes

Total Time: 15 minutes

Yields: 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 potato, diced
  • 1 tomato, cubed
  • a small handful of spinach, chopped
  • 1/4 of a red onion, diced
  • 2 eggs, whisked in a bowl
  • oil, to coat the skillet
  • 1 tbspn butter
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • mixed herb seasoning, to taste

Instructions:

1. Heat oil in the skillet over medium-high heat, and add diced potatoes.

2. Let potatoes cook until browning begins, and then add diced onions. Don’t worry if potatoes start to look too brown, you want them crispy, and to make sure they are cooked all the way through. Season the potato onion mixture with salt, pepper, and herb seasoning.

3. When onions have softened, add egg, spinach, tomatoes, and butter, and mix with a wooden spatula until eggs have just started to set.

4. Add salt, pepper, and herb seasoning to taste.

5. Serve!

Note:

I like to turn off the heat as soon as the eggs have started to set, so that the eggs don’t become overcooked.  Don’t worry if the eggs look slightly underdone, they will keep the heat from the skillet and finish cooking on their own.

IMG_3620

2 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Vegetarian Egg Hash

Leave a Reply

